“Perfect” submissions

Posted: March 16, 2010 in All, Children's books and movies, Submissions
Tags: , , ,

Maybe book submissions don’t have to be perfect.

I just finished writing a picture book. I like it, but it’s not quite perfect yet. The age level for the readership is still a bit high. But I don’t know if that’s a deal breaker.

Reading advice from agents and editors keep repeating the same thing: be prepared to make changes in your story. Then what defines a “finished” story?

Every time I send something out, I tweak it again. Sometimes the changes are big. Most times, little. But if a publisher picks it up, they could change it more. And if there’s an agent in between there, there’s another change.

I’m not saying send out rough drafts. But in this particular case, the story is strong enough (in my opinion) that if an agent or editor was interested in it, the weaknesses in it are not insurmountable. They would see the potential in it.

But is that too much of a bridge to accept? We’ll see when I send it out this week.

Leave a Reply

